

# Corporate governance & board committees

Premier Miton Group plc recognises the importance of good corporate governance and intends that best practice is adopted and applied in so far as it is appropriate for the company given its rapidly growing and entrepreneurial nature, its size and stage of development. As an AIM traded company, the UK Corporate Governance Code issued by the Financial Reporting Council (FRC) does not apply, however the Board of Premier Miton intends to comply with the requirements of the Corporate Governance guidelines published by the Quoted Companies Alliance (the QCA Guidelines) for AIM companies and with certain of the principal requirements of the UK Corporate Governance Code. This report describes how Premier Miton is structured and the committees established to ensure it applies the principles of good corporate Governance throughout the year and continues to develop the corporate policies.

The organisational structure of Premier Miton comprises the following committees and members:

# 1. The Premier Miton Group plc Board of Directors is as follows:

## Michael Andrew Vogel - Non-Executive Chairman

Mike joined Premier Asset Management Group plc in 2007 as Chairman of the Board. He is also the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Elcot Capital Management. Prior to this, Mike was the Chief Executive Officer of Framlington Group and before that Chief Executive Officer of Prolific Financial Management.

## Michael Patrick O'Shea - Chief Executive Officer

Mike was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Premier Miton Group plc in November 2019 following the merger of Premier Asset Management Group plc and Miton Group plc. He started his investment career as a private client portfolio manager. He joined Premier Asset Management plc in 1986 to develop the asset management business of the company and was one of the founding directors of Premier Fund Managers Ltd in 1988. Mike became Chief Executive Officer in May 2005. Mike also serves on the main board of the Investment Association.

# Piers Harrison - Chief Financial Officer

Prior to joining the Miton Group in 2013, Piers was the Deputy Finance Director and Head of Operational Risk with Neptune Investment Management Ltd. Before that Piers specialised in the financial services sector and in 2008 became a partner in Matterley, a Fund Management business whose interests were acquired by Charles Stanley Group Plc in September 2009. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England & Wales having trained and qualified with Saffery Champness in 2001. Piers joined the Board in November 2019.

#### Robert Charles Lumsden Colthorpe - Senior Independent Director

Robert is a highly experienced corporate financier with over 25 years experience of advising a wide range of clients, mainly in the financial services sector. He has worked at major merchant and investment banks (Morgan Grenfell, Deutsche Bank, Société Générale and ABN Amro) and boutique advisory firms (Hawkpoint and Europa Partners). He qualified as a Chartered Accountant with Arthur Andersen.

#### William Longden Smith - Non-Executive Director

Will is a founding partner and Chief Investment Officer at Westbeck Capital Management LLP, an energy focused hedge fund based in London. He is also currently a non-executive director of George Hattersley (1985) Limited, a textile manufacturer based in Yorkshire. Will was lead fund manager of City Natural Resources High Yield Trust an Investment Trust, and co-manager of a number of other closed end funds. Will started his career in the securities industry at Pinchin Denny in 1977, and traded equities at Phillips and Drew-UBS from 1986 to 1998.

#### Alison Fleming - Non-Executive Director

Alison has had an extensive career in financial markets over the last 25 years, holding senior positions within investment banks and boutique asset managers. Initially in investment banking (including UBS, Lehman Brothers, Credit Lyonnais) predominantly focused on public markets in sales, including running sales and sales trading in Europe. Latterly in private markets working across hedge funds, real assets, renewable energy and sustainable agriculture. Alison brings experience in stake holder engagement, compliance, ESC, sales and marketing, governance and business development. She is also a non-executive director of 1723 Partners Limited, Helkia Ltd, Hoya Limited, Saffarroon Limited, Sasena Ltd and The Kids' Cookery School Acton.

# David Barron - Non-Executive Director

David Barron has held senior positions in the asset management industry for over 25 years. He was Chief Executive of Miton Group plc until the merger with Premier Asset Management Group plc in November 2019. He had held that position from March 2017, having joined Miton in 2013. Prior to that, he had spent nearly 20 years with JPMorgan Asset Management and predecessor companies, latterly leading the UK's number one investment trust business. He had previously worked with Hambros Bank and Merrill Lynch in corporate finance. David is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland and holds an MBA from INSEAD. He is also Chairman of Dunedin Income Growth Trust plc.

1

# 2. Board Committees

a.) Audit & Risk Committee	Terms of Reference
Robert Colthorpe	Chairman
Will Smith	Non-Executive Director
b.) Remuneration Committee	Terms of Reference
Mike Vogel	Chairman
Robert Colthorpe	Senior Independent Director
Will Smith	Non-Executive Director
c.) Nomination Committee	Terms of Reference
Will Smith	Chairman
Robert Colthorpe	Senior Independent Director
Mike Vogel	Non-Executive Director

Issued by Premier Miton Investors. Premier Portfolio Managers Limited is registered in England no. 01235867. Premier Fund Managers Limited is registered in England no. 02274227. Both companies are authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and are members of the 'Premier Miton Investors' marketing group and subsidiaries of Premier Miton Group plc (registered in England no. 06306664). Registered office: Eastgate Court, High Street, Guildford, Surrey GU1 3DE.

2